Skip to main content

FOCUS

Spring 2021 Focus Events

All events are held at 4 p.m. EDT, 3 p.m. CDT, 2 p.m. MDT, 1 p.m. PDT, 11 a.m. HST

  • Thursday, April 29: "FOCUS Fix-it"

    A virtual resume and cover letter workshop for job-seeking teachers.

  • Thursday, July 29: "Higher Ed Happy Hour"

    Learn about grant-funded rural special education graduate and doctoral programs.

  • Thursday, September 30: "Thank U, Next"

    Rural special education job possibilities after a doctoral program.

  • Thursday, October 28: "Putting the 'Ear' in 'Research'"

    Getting started with action research


What is FOCUS?

ACRES Future-Oriented Colleagues in Universities and Schools (FOCUS) is a group of undergraduate students, graduate students, doctoral students, and early career professionals dedicated to supporting each other and the next generation of rural special education teachers and researchers.

FOCUS sponsors:

  • Virtual lunch-and-learn meetings
  • Student and early career FOCUS session at the annual ACRES conference
  • Opportunities for networking and mentoring

We invite college and university students at all levels and early career professionals to join this supportive network. Join us for our upcoming sessions!